Tipperary Town Revitalisation Task Force in conjunction with sponsors Tipperary Credit Union have revealed the winners of their competition within the local schools to create the Task Force Logo and Slogan. There was also a colouring competition for younger students.

The judging committee were very impressed with the standard of the entries and particularly with the positive and vibrant images of Tipperary that were reflected in the entries. The winners were announced at a social distancing event organised by Claire Costelloe of Tipperary Credit Union at their Head Office in Tipperary Town.  John P. Hartnett Chairperson of Tipperary Credit Union presented the winners and runners up with generous cheques.

The winning slogan was a hashtag entry “#TimeForTipp” by Betty L’herrou a 5th class student at Gaelscoil Thiobraid Aránn.

David Patrasu, a 2nd class student from the Monastery School, submitted a very colourful winning entry to the colouring competition.

Second-level students from The Abbey, St. Ailbe’s School and St. Anne’s Secondary School were all invited to design and submit a logo that reflected Tipperary as the best small town in Ireland to live in. The winning logo was designed by Lin Zhi Keenan, a talented second-year student from St. Anne’s Secondary School. Lin Zhi’s design reflects Tipperary as a vibrant, inclusive, and sustainable place to live. The town is green and is surrounded by trees to reflect a more sustainable future. In the background, there is a sun with rays showing Tipperary as a bright and positive place to live. There are five people in the logo all shown in different colours representing both uniqueness and diversity. The people are holding hands and are ‘lifting up’ the town representing unity and the power of what can be achieved when people work together. One of the five people is a wheelchair user, representing the inclusion of people with disabilities and Lin Zhi’s desire for Tipperary Town to be accessible for everyone.

Following her win, Lin Zhi worked with local graphic designer Kevin Leahy, who volunteered his time and expertise, to produce a ‘print-ready’ version of the logo. Lin Zhi was honoured to have won the competition and was particularly delighted with the €200 prize from Tipperary Credit Union. On receiving her award, she said, ‘I was really excited that something I had created was going to be used for such an important project. I am very grateful to Ms Helen Ryan, my art teacher, for encouraging me to enter the competition. I was thrilled with the generous prize from Tipperary Credit Union.’ Brianna Byrnes was awarded second place, winning €50 for her logo which represented a bright future for Tipperary Town. Third place was awarded to a delighted Laura O’ Keeffe whose modern logo represented the re-energising of Tipperary town.

Project Manager, Marie Ryan, welcomes the Logo and believes “it represents the objective of the Task Force to support and enhance the town, to make it the best it can be, especially in these times where many rural communities and towns are facing challenges”.

Chairperson of the Committee Carmel Fox also commented “Tipperary Town Revitalisation Task Force is really pleased to have received such an amazing logo and slogan from two talented young students in Tipperary town. We thank Lin Zhi and Betty and pass on our congratulations to them.

 This competition was made possible through collaboration between three members of the Task Force, Colette Treacy, Anne Bradshaw and John P Hartnett, which saw the HSE, the schools in Tipperary Town and Tipperary Credit Union organise and run the competition and present the awards. The Task Force extends thanks to them and to Tipperary Town Revitalisation Project Manager, Marie Ryan.”

Full List of Winners

Logo Competition

1st Place Lin Zhi Keenan

2nd Place Brianna Byrnes

3rd Place Laura O’ Keeffe

Slogan Competition

1st Place Betty L’Herrou

2nd Place Leon L’Herrou

3rd Place Isobel Flynn

Colouring Competition

1st Place David Patrasu

2nd Place Ellie-Mai Hutton-Barry

3rd Place Finn Hogan

Tipperary Task Force has secured premises for the new office on Bridge Street which will be open to the public very shortly. One of the first areas that the Task Force is focussing on is heritage and tourism. A subgroup has been established to identify and work on projects in the town in these areas. The sub-group has worked together and, in collaboration with the wider stakeholders, devised a Heritage Action Plan for the Town.